Schools

Assets

Enrichment

Vocational

Literacy with ICT

Administration Office

Box 68
1126 St. Clare Street
Birtle, Manitoba
R0M 0C0
Phone: 842-2100
Fax: 842-2110
Toll Free: 1-877-418-5320
www.pwsd.ca

Popular Links

Powerschool Login
Copyright in Schools
School Attendance Guidelines
Weather Related Emergencies
Schools
Board
Employment
Contact Us
Division Calendar
Policies
Use of Facilities
Provincial Report Card 1-8
Provincial Report Card 9-12

STUDENT SERVICES

In Park West School Division, the Student Services Team provides support to all students, teachers and families to help make the school experience for all students as successful as possible.
The Division has developed a Student Services Handbook. This handbook was written as a resource guide for Student Services in Park West School Division. It contains current policies and procedures that have been linked to online government documents wherever applicable. The manual will incorporate new policies and procedures as they are developed. It is intended primarily for use by administrators, school teams and student services professionals. Other professionals, parents/guardians and community members may also find it useful.View our handbook for further information on Student Services in Park West.


The Role of Student Services

Supporting students in Park West School Division occurs as pictured in the diagram below. At the centre is the student, with core team supports provided by the teacher and parent. If this is not enough support, the team can obtain help from other disciplines (specialist personnel). Inclusive practice encourages transdisciplinary sharing and collegiality, working within the consultative/ collaborative model.


Some students enter school with various disciplines already involved. Formal introduction of a new discipline or agency requires a referral with written parental/guardian approval. Any specialist support person becomes part of the student's support team. Specialist personnel might work directly with the student or consult/train other team members such as parents/guardians, teachers or educational assistants.

Student Services Team

Position Name Phone Number Email
Student Services Coordinator Bonnie Kiliwnik 842-2107 bkiliwnik@pwsd.ca
Speech Pathologist Kim Baskerville 842-2812 kbaskerville@pwsd.ca
Speech Pathologist Amber English 842-2823 aenglish@pwsd.ca
Speech Pathologist Elaine Kestirke 842-2114 ekestirke@pwsd.ca
Speech Pathologist Jennifer Carter 859-2811 jcarter@pwsd.ca
School Psychologist Ashley Kroeger 842-2803 akroeger@pwsd.ca
School Psychologist Betty Senger 842-3317 bsenger@pwsd.ca
Guidance Program Facilitator Dana Corr 842-3315 dcorr@pwsd.ca

Professional Links

National Association of School Psychologists

Canadian Association of Speech Language Pathologists & Audiologists

National Association of Social Workers

Brain Based Learning

Positive Parenting Online

School Discipline Strategies

Learning Disabilities Association of Manitoba

Behavior Management

School Mental Health Organization

Manitoba Education - Student Services